587,149 active members*
5,353 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Hello from Omaha

Hi,
    I'm a newbie and have about a million questions so please be patient. I am a hobby metal crafter/ blacksmith and I'm interested in building a CNC drive for my plasma cutting machine. I have some CNC background; I ran CNC shapecutters and drilling machines in my former life and have a little knowledge of G-code, minimal knowledge in CAD and I have a BS in Systems and Network Admin. I have done a little research about stepper motors, controllers, CNC software and I was steered to a free program called Gsimple. I have a couple computers to choose from for the set-up; both running XP Pro and on a home workgroup network. I haven't started on the framework for the axises but near as I have deduced, I will have an x, y, and z and need three motors a controller for them, screws etc. What I am having trouble with is how it all connects. I understand that the stepper control I've been looking at connects to the xp box via USB, but how does the software work. I've run a couple very simple programs i.e. circles and squares etc but all I see is the program run through the g-code. How does it send that to the controller. Is it in the background? Or is there a piece of middleware I still need that makes the Gsimple talk to the controller?? I know these are very basic questions and forgive me for being so long winded.
    Thanks for your time,
    Scott

hello

Hi Scott,

how's your project going? I am from Mexico but will be in Omaha for some 40 days. I would like to see how is your project coming together because I want to start my own project by the end of this year.

Best regards,

Hector

I actually have yet to start construction. I am really still between the pipe dream and brain storming stages I never got any replies to my basic questions so I'm still searching for answers.
    Scott

do you have any ideas about what motors you can use, the control, the software?