587,684 active members*
3,053 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Machine Controllers Software and Solutions > G-Code Programing > Help needed with Siemens 840D and Renishaw probe

Help needed with Siemens 840D and Renishaw probe

I have several programs I am working on that require the use of a Renishaw part probe with a Siemens 840D control. I am able to use the standard Siemens cycles to measure ID, OD, etc. but want to get into more custom programs that could allow me to use the probe in more creative ways. Does anyone have any good examples or experience with this type of G code programming?

For record...the machine is a G&L VTC2000 VTL.

Siemens 840d help

Hey BWay i am new to this furum but hope i can help. I run a Giddings and lewis HBM PT1500 and do alot of probing and checking parts with the probe in many different ways. I don't know if i can help you but let me know what you are thinking of doing as far as probing and I'll try to give you a hand.

Quote Originally Posted by tfisher View Post
    Hey BWay i am new to this furum but hope i can help. I run a Giddings and lewis HBM PT1500 and do alot of probing and checking parts with the probe in many different ways. I don't know if i can help you but let me know what you are thinking of doing as far as probing and I'll try to give you a hand.
    Thanks for the reply. Here are a few questions I am working through and maybe you can add some insight.

1) Are you probing using the standard Seimens Cycles only?
    2) Do you have the ability to "Jog" probe?
    3) Siemens or Fanic Controls?
    4) Have you created custom programs that integrate your probe into the G code programs?
    5) Have you had any calibration issues?
    6) Have you used different stylus steups besides a the standard straight stylus?
    7) What kind of accuracy does the probe measure?

Lots of quesions....

Thanks for any input offered.