529,979 active members*
3,303 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > General Manufacturing Processes > Milling > HELP! Newbie Having issues with ER32 tool pullout.

HELP! Newbie Having issues with ER32 tool pullout.

Hi all,
    First post here
    I am a newbie to cnc Machining. We recently bought a machine to machine Aluminium moulds to make composite parts (Mostly small wings). Using 5mm diameter Ball nosed endmills at about 17k rpm we get great surface finishes. The problem is that during finishing passes (removing 0.2 to 0.4mm of material) the tool slowly pulls out of the ER32 collet and the cuts become deeper by the time it reaches the end of the part.
    I assumed that it would be impossible for the tool to pull out with such little loads? Are we doing something wrong or do we just need Hydraulic chucks?
    Does anyone have similar experiences?
    Thanks a lot.

Re: HELP! Newbie Having issues with ER32 tool pullout.

This suggests to me exactly what you are thinking that the collet in your chuck is not gripping the tool tight enough. Have you measured the length of the tool outside the chuck and confirmed that it is actually pulling out.

Steve.

Hi Gian - Make sure everything is clean and fits correctly and the collet is the right size for the bit. Then tighten it up really tight. Also make sure it is engaged correctly. If it is not in far enough it will loosen. Peter

Yes, The tool is pulling out, measuring it using tool length sensor and the change in tool length is consistent with the error in the actual part. My main issue is understanding the reason the tool is pulling out. The loads should be pretty low since its only a finishing pass. It seems impossible that I have to spend 600 bucks for a hydraulic chuck for such a light operation.
    I guess my next step is to try some high precision collets that only fit one size. The ones I have now have a range of 1mm
    Edit: we are already using high precision collets