588,121 active members*
4,873 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking > MetalWork Discussion > Help the newbie, or laugh at silly questions :)
    Sentinel Guest

Help the newbie, or laugh at silly questions :)

I've been in computer/network/telecoms area, for a long time. Then I 'cracked', and decided to move to something completely different.

So, here I am, having a CNC machine in my room (just arrived few days ago), too scared to even think about assembling it (well, almost).

I have no knowledge about CNC, nor do I have any knowledge about machining, but I've definitelly decided to learn. So, I've spent past 2 months reading and reading and reading, and reached 'information overload' stage, where I ended up knowing lots of things, but not actually understanding them

To make things even more complicated for myself, I live in a place where you don't find CNC stuff in shops (milling bits, collets, etc, etc) - I have to order things from abroad, so I have to really know what I need in advance.

Therefore, at risk of being laughed at, I am going to ask some very stupid and basic questions. Hope I'll get some responses.

(yeah, I know - there are no stupid questions, only stupid answers )

1. How do you people know what speeds (spindle) to use for what materials, and for which milling bits? This has been puzzling me for some time now. Is there a resource (table, list, ...) that shows combination of speeds/materials, or it all depends on experience and "trial & error"?