588,385 active members*
5,318 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Benchtop Machines > Help! What is Sieg X1, X2, X3?

Smile Help! What is Sieg X1, X2, X3?

I am a newbie that interested in building the mini CNC machine.
    I have almost decided to use drive/motor from hobbycnc.com 200oz-in.
    The only thing remains is choosing the mechanic.
    I have been looking around the discussion where you guys define a lot of mini mill as SIEG X1, 2, 3 eventhough the machines from the website doesn't call it like that.
    So here are my 2 questions:
    1. I am looking to purchase the limited budget from mini mill Harbor Frieght
    http://www.harborfreight.com/cpi/cta...emnumber=47158
    $259. Is this something that you would recommend for startup? (of course, budget does come into "big" factor.

2. Can anyone englight my silly knowledge, why would people refer the mini machine as SEIG?

Thank you soooooo much.

Thats because Seig is the overseas company(China) that makes most of these smaller machines. The one you are refering to is the X1 aka Micro mill. The X2 is slightly bigger and is commonly called a "mini mill." The X3 is the biggest of the Seig mills (I believe), but im not sure where it is purchasable from. I think Grizzly will be selling it soon.

On your first question, I actually have the X1 but only use it for small stuff and it isnt CNC'd (Yet!) But I find it works ok so far, so long as you keep the gibs adjusted nice and snug. There are a few different site you can read up on these small mills and them being converted to cnc, also. I dont know them off the top of my head, but thats what google is for

Enjoy your CNC conversion process and be sure to post up your results.

Dizzy,
    Thanks for the answer. So what you are saying is that both Grizzly and harbor frieght got SEIG products X1, X2, X3??,
    From their product pictures, they don't look anything alike though?