588,033 active members*
5,372 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CNC Electronics > CNC Machine Related Electronics > HIP4082 - Continuous High Side with Charge Pump

HIP4082 - Continuous High Side with Charge Pump

Hello,

I'm new to CNCZone but I found this site being populated with expert people !
    I'm interested in designing a DC/DCC Booster for my railroad model. This booster is essentially a H-Bridge being used in anti-phase mode. I want this booster to support DCC mode (roughly a 20kHz signal) as well as DC (continuous) signal. Voltage will be less than 20 volts and current intensity would be less than 5 amps. And last, it must support polarity auto-reverse for an adjustable trip current.
    I've looked at the LMD18200 (from NS) which almost all what I needed but this chip is too clever as it doesn't permit to detect short-circuit (while it protects itself against this condition).
    Now I'm considering the HIP4082 (for which I got already some samples) but I'm wondering how this device will behave in continuous mode. I'm thinking of using two charge pump circuits (one for each H-side MOSFET) to provide the HIP4082 with two floating supplies between AHB and AHS pins (same for B side). Has anyone already experienced that?
    An other option could be HIP4080/81 but at this time I have not been able to get samples for a prototype.

Regards

I tryed to build a 3 phase stepper driver with the HIP4082 but stopped trying because too many ic's got defective during test. I used isolated floating supplies for the highside driver. Under low load conditions it worked ok but with steppers connected and normal load of 3A I did not got it working properly. I tryed all the protection methods I found but still not a stable driver so I switched back too Nmos / Pmos fets and transitor driverstages.