588,190 active members*
7,230 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Question How Can I build my own 3 Axis CNC Mill

Hi Guys
    I am a newbie and I didnt know where to place this at so moderators please move it to the correct forum please. but my main question is there anyway I can make a 3 Axis CNC Mill for cheap doing it homemade if so can you tell me what parts I need to do this Thanks Tim.

If you don't already have a mill or lathe to bootstrap with consider it impossible. What's your budget? Probably your best bet is to start with a Sieg X2 ($459.99 in HF Catalog, 44991-2RXH) and build it out with mods.

well my budget is around 480 dollars. and I would like to hook up a computer to it so it can get CAD drawings also.

Then it is impossible. You want to make precision arts but pay peanuts (styrofoam ones at that) to get it done. Drives, motors, power supply, computer and the program to run them will set you back al you have to spend and the machine isn't even purchased yet. Yes, there are cheaper, but I read on another thread what you want to do, and you won't do it for your budget. Motors are $45 ea. You need three. Drives are $150-$350 for three axis. Power supplies are $50-$120, a used computer is about $100. Right there I see $450 and you haven't bought your control program which is another $130 at least unless you want to mess with EMC2.

Yes, a cheap wooden CNC router is possible on your budget. Doing what you want to do, isn't.

I can do up to a grand if needs too.

google for some kitchendrawer and m8threadrod cnc like projectlog.

my experience is that learning and cheap and fast is a very bad combo.

when you need to keep it cheap and go for salvaging printersteppermotors and mdf and kitchendrawerslides you'll have a hack of time getting it all aligned not even to mention the electronics.That's is the having fun way i guess but ain't suitable when you don't have months or like me years to be fooling around.