587,482 active members*
3,117 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CNC Electronics > CNC Machine Related Electronics > How to match inverter with Spindle?

How to match inverter with Spindle?

Before I get to the meat of my question, I need to verify that inverters and VFDs are synonymous.

So I took a gamble and bought a pair of spindles second hand on ebay for cheap. I have never used anything but a router before so I was hoping to break into spindles and not loose much if something goes wrong.

Now I need to figure out how to get a way of running the spindle.

How do I match inverters to their spindles? 400V, 13A and the other 400V 1.3A.

Can the spindles be run at a lower voltage? Does the frequency a spindle is run at control the speed, and the voltage the torque?

Do I need measure the inductance of the spindle for matching an inverter to it?

I asked the company for info, but as these are second hand, I won't be holding my breath for much.

Thanks in advance for the advice.

VFD's are often referred to as inverters.
    Yes the frequency does control rpm and to a great extent, voltage the torque.
    You may be out of luck running them on lower voltage.
    The matching is usually to the current at base speed of the motor and HP.
    400v is an odd voltage? Usually 440/480?
    Al.
    CNC, Mechatronics Integration and Custom Machine Design

“Logic will get you from A to B. Imagination will take you everywhere.”
    Albert E.

Like Al said, frequency will alter speed of rotation and voltage will alter torque ( and subsequently current) .

It is this "subsequent " aspect of VFD that needs to be understood.

A spindle in genral is a squirel cage motor with amazing dynamic balance and bearings which allow the motor to run up to very high speeds ( tens of thousands of RPM.

A sad fact of life however is that as the drive frequency goes up at a constant voltage the motor current tends to drop off inversely with frequency.