587,787 active members*
3,189 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking > MetalWork Discussion > how to mill a 48" long 8020 extrusion?

how to mill a 48" long 8020 extrusion?

I'm very new to machining, just got a Grizzly G0704, and am trying build a 36" x 48" CNC router, using 80/20 extrusions.

What I'd like to do, is use the G0704 to facemill the surfaces of the X-axis extrusions, so that I can more accurately mount the linear rails without any binding. (The X-axis extrusions will be 1545, about 48" long)

The problem is, how should I go about setting up this milling job? The Grizzly has a max travel of about 18", so I can only facemill a bit before having to reposition it.

I've tried different clamping setups, using the spindle DRO, the vice etc..., but I can't get a consistent surface once I reposition the extrusion. Any pointers for milling very long items that extend beyond the bed?

Sorry this is such a basic question -- i've searched the web and found lots of details on how to clamp things to your bed, but nothing on how to ensure that the piece is accurately positioned when you slide it forward another x inches.

- also, I'm using a 2" diameter facemill for this operation. Is that the right tool for this?

Quote Originally Posted by Shalecnc View Post
    Sorry this is such a basic question -- i've searched the web and found lots of details on how to clamp things to your bed, but nothing on how to ensure that the piece is accurately positioned when you slide it forward another x inches.

- also, I'm using a 2" diameter facemill for this operation. Is that the right tool for this?
    My home built CNC router is with unmachined 8020 and it doesn't bind. 8020 comes out of the extruders very straight.