587,396 active members*
3,955 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Uncategorised MetalWorking Machines > How much haggling is possible with the used mach. dealers?

How much haggling is possible with the used mach. dealers?

I've never done this before...

So let's say you see a machine - generally lower priced machine, in the $20k range (or whatever). I think the prices are negotiable, right? Is there a rule of thumb? I mean, should you shoot for 10% off? 20%? 5%? 0%???

I know it's a vague question, but for example I know on a new car you could be looking at at least 5% off often more depending on demand and your ability to haggle.

What about haggling on other things like asking for tooling, or having the rigging thrown in, or whatever?

I guess what I'm really asking is do the dealers bump the price up expecting people to haggle them down, or do they pretty much list it at what they want for it?

Just dont wanna overpay

I'm trying to sell a couple machines in that price range now. When I bought and when I sell I just expect (in this price range) to get / take off about 2-4k. So haggle, no harm done in making an offer. The seller may even go further depending on how bad they want to unload the machine.

Consider the condition too. A real creampuff may be worth the price, a machine beat to s*&^ well...you need to factor in that it may need 5k worth of repair.

Just make sure you go and look at em run before you buy. I've been burned in the past by trusting the all too often stated "in perfect working condition".

Could you PM me info on the machines you're moving?

I am not tied to any specific brand. We have Leadwell, Okuma and Bridgeport in the shop now and I am looking at Excel, Fadal, Tree, Haas, Comet, Bridgeport and others. I'm not a brand-hog