587,761 active members*
2,893 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CNC Electronics > Stepper Motors / Drives > Howto control Vexta UDX5114 via computer??
Page 1 of 2 12

Howto control Vexta UDX5114 via computer??

Hi, Does anyone know how to hook up a vexta udx5114 to parallel port?
    I have 3 udx5114 with matching stepper motors, and now I need to know how to control them using Kcam through parallel port, help anyone?

csc

Hi happytriger,

I've just got several of these UDX-Drives.
    To use them with Clk/Dir-Pinout I take a CMOS-Analog-Switch to get a CW-Clk-signal and another switch with an inverter in front to get CCW-clock.

the clock-signal is at the input of both switches, and the switches will passthrough the clocksignal depending on the Dir-state.

I hope you understand :-)
    If necessary I'll made a small picture ...

Greets Frank

Finally...

Hi Jimmybondi,
    mmm..Im not an expert in electronics,NEWBIE, I think I need a picture to understand, or a schematic, THX

cs chang

Here's a picture of what Im looking for....
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Vexta.bmp  

Hi Happytriger,

the normal application of a driver to the LPT-Port is known I think.
    But the UDX need an explicent step for CW and CCW rotation
    on a change from low to high at CW-pin the motor turn one step right and at a change at CCW-pin equal one step left.
    So you have to generate these - eq. via the attached schematic:

the step-signal is at the input of 4066 and will be switched through depending on the direction state. the resistors are pulldown - the logic is active high

hope you understand :-)

Greets Frank

Pinouts:
    4066 input - output - trigger
    1 - 2 -13
    4 - 3 - 5
    8 - 9 - 6
    11 - 10 - 12
    7 GND
    14 VCC

4009 in - out
    3 - 2
    5 - 4
    7 - 6
    9 - 10
    11 - 12
    14 - 15
    1 VCC
    8 GND
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails 4066.bmp  

Thanks Frank,
    I will build 1 asap and test it.