548,468 active members*
1,387 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    33

    I fried limit switches inputs

    I am a beginner and I know what I did is gonna sound terrible.

    I have a Mk3/4 Planet CNC controller and I connected NC PNP inductive proximity switches to LIM1, LIM2 and LIM3 inputs.

    The problem is that I did that without any optocouplers. I connected the brown wire to +12V, blue wire to GND and black wire directly to the input.

    It seems like I fried the inputs. Is there any way to fix what I did?

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    2083

    Re: I fried limit switches inputs

    If I have read your post correctly

    The NC PNP inductive proximity switches will of
    pulled the Mk3/4 Planet CNC controller limit inputs up to +12V
    destroying the inputs

    The only solutions I can see is either
    use the inputs IN1 to IN4 if the PlanetCNC software will let you
    or replace the MK3/4 control board

    Contact Planet CNC to see if they either repair the boards or offer a discount on a replacement

    John

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    33

    Re: I fried limit switches inputs

    Thank you John for your quick response.

    I will contact the support to see whether they can fix the board.

    Can I use this PC817 module to wire the inductive switches: https://www.aliexpress.com/item/32836147946.html

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    2083

    Re: I fried limit switches inputs

    yes that PC817 module will work

    the circuit only shows 1 of the 4 opto-isolator circuits on the board

    Attachment 425142

    removing the red jumper will isolate the proximity switch 12V supply GND from the Mk3/4 Planet CNC controller input GND


    when the limit switch is closed
    the PC817 modules LED will be on and the PC817's photo transistor will be switched on
    grounding the Mk3/4 Planet CNC controller limit input



    John

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Posts
    72

    Re: I fried limit switches inputs

    Most likely one of the buffer chips burned out. SN74AHCT244 (hb244) You can change the chip itself which goes to the conclusions of "LIM".

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    33

    Re: I fried limit switches inputs

    Thank you both for your responses!

    I send the board out for repair to PlanetCNC.

    Your scheme makes perfect sense to me John, thank you!

    There is just one thing that is still bothering me. If you look at the original optocoupler module from PlanetCNC It is also connected to +5V pin on the controller. Please someone explain to me why that is necessary. Shouldn't the module also work if +5V is left unconnected?

    Would this board work as well? This is the board that I can get locally within a few days. I guess that I might need to change the resistors with lower values so it would work with 12V.

    I know it seems like I am making it more complicated than it needs to be, but I am just trying to get a better understanding.

  7. #7
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    2083

    Re: I fried limit switches inputs

    the PlanetCNC opto-isolator board has a dual opto-isolator IC that has more than the 2 LEDs and the 2 photo transistors a 2 channel version of the PC817 module from post 3

    Attachment 425420 Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2530.jpg 
Views:	3 
Size:	32.8 KB 
ID:	425424

    HCPL-2503 on the PlanetCNC opto-isolator board data sheet
    6N135-36, HCPL-2503,30,31,4502.pdf

    John

    PS
    the link to the second board you can get locally goes to the planetcnc module the first link goes to

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    33

    Re: I fried limit switches inputs

    Ah, sorry! This is the board that I can get locally: https://www.banggood.com/24V-To-5V-4...r_warehouse=CN

    Thank you for providing the datasheet. This goes beyond my understanding of electrical circuits but I guess the +5V connection is there for noise reduction?

  9. #9
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    2083

    Re: I fried limit switches inputs

    using the photo of the board and the HCPL data

    PlanetCNC opto-isolator module circuit

    Attachment 425432

    the banggood board probably will if you get the correct version
    I'll have a look to see if I can find more details

    John

  10. #10
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    2083

    Re: I fried limit switches inputs

    this banggood board

    Attachment 425434

    will work when connecting 24V NC PNP inductive proximity switches to the
    5V Mk3/4 Planet CNC controller inputs

    you can see it has 3K9 resistors (marked 392) to limit the current through the LED input indicator and PC817's LED

    assuming the volt drop across the LED is 2V
    22/3900 = 0.0056A = 5.6mA which looks OK



    with the output side powered from a +5V supply the opto isolator output will be safe to connet to the Planet CNC controller limit input

    each PC817's NPN phototransistor has a 10K pullup resistor (marked 103) / collector load connected to the +5V supply
    the output LED's and power indicator has a 510 ohm resistor (marked 511) to limit the current from the + 5V supply

    5V - 2V across the LED = 3V
    3/510 = 0.0056 A =5.9 mA

    John

  11. #11

    Join Date
    Nov 2021
    Posts
    7

    Re: I fried limit switches inputs

    I'm sorry if I open a older post...
    this is the same, correct?:

    https://www.amazon.it/Optoaccoppiato...662255&sr=8-12

    thank's
    Nino

  12. #12
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Posts
    1026

    Re: I fried limit switches inputs

    Quote Originally Posted by Clyde_IT View Post
    I'm sorry if I open a older post...
    this is the same, correct?:
    https://www.amazon.it/Optoaccoppiato...662255&sr=8-12
    thank's
    Nino
    Hi matey. NO!.
    That board is no where near the same. It turns out it has all the grounds linked together throughout the board. I tried one as a simple switch but if the trigger is on the low side of connection (negative) the entire board lights up even if only 1 isolator is connected.

    What you need is a board with both +/- input options with seperate positive entry. Also with option to choose between pull up or pull down when you output it.


    I unequivocally recommend these ones below for either mechanical or inductive, 2 or 3 wire switches.
    I have inductive switches inputting into this one at 24v and then it outputs 5v low to my controller. I will use no other board type again.
    https://www.aliexpress.com/item/4000...57834c4d6Ncn7G
    You can choose your input/output voltage requirments and npn/pnp output type depending on your cnc controller inputs.
    (I think I have a wiring dia drawn up for this using proximity switches somewhere if you get stuck)

    This one may also work fine:
    https://www.aliexpress.com/item/1005...c00XFWXFL&mp=1
    Choose your input voltage you need. Output shows it can run load from 1.8v upto 24v as is.

    I have both of these board types but the first one is well worth waiting delivery for.
    Haven't fully tried the bottom one yet.

  13. #13

    Join Date
    Nov 2021
    Posts
    7

    Re: I fried limit switches inputs

    oh, thank's! You prevented my mistake!
    The only problem is I can’t wait that long... I've to find something similar in a European market (Italian is better) for a delivery up 4-5 days..
    I'll try to search for it..
    Thank's again
    Nino

  14. #14

    Join Date
    Nov 2021
    Posts
    7

    Re: I fried limit switches inputs

    Ok, now I think that it's correct

    https://www.amazon.it/AILOVA-Convert...0&sr=8-18&th=1

  15. #15
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Posts
    1026

    Re: I fried limit switches inputs

    Quote Originally Posted by Clyde_IT View Post

    That should work fine.
    They look to have a good supply of that version all over the site.
    Handy circuit diagram on this one:
    https://www.amazon.it/optoaccoppiato...85367&sr=8-234

    They also have:
    https://www.amazon.it/Isolamento-Del...85237&sr=8-152


    I find these types of relay module useful too for switching things on/off. You can use either positive (high) or negative (low) triggers on these and just change the jumper to suit.
    https://www.amazon.it/Condensatori-S...&sr=8-181&th=1

Similar Threads

  1. Y and Z limit switches inputs not working
    By Lasr Da Vinci in forum Hobbycnc (Products)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-18-2015, 11:33 PM
  2. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-05-2013, 02:54 AM
  3. How many inputs are needed for limit switches?
    By RPCElectronics in forum Benchtop Machines
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-31-2012, 10:45 PM
  4. E-Stop,Limit Switches - Car door open switches ?
    By TrickyCNC in forum DIY CNC Router Table Machines
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 04-19-2012, 09:55 PM
  5. G540 Inputs & Proximity Switches
    By Mikeee in forum Gecko Drives
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-03-2011, 03:00 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •