588,066 active members*
4,928 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

IH vs. CNC masters

Hi everyone,

I would like to get everyone's opinion. I am looking at the IH cnc mill www.industrialhobbies.com and the CNC Masters Supra Mill www.cncmasters.com They are both about the same money. The IH uses servos and Mach3 where the CNC masters uses Micro-Steppers and their own software. I like that the CNC Masters can also be used manually. They also have a 5600 rpm spindle VS. IH spindle speed of 3600 rpm. I am mostly machining aluminum and a little bit of steel. I machine decent size parts. I like both machines, the travel size is right (using IH's travel extension) but my biggest concern with the IH is the spindle speed. A couple of parts that I machine have a 2mm o-ring groove in them so I need high rpm for this. What are your opinions?

Thanks

I have no experience with ethier of the machines you pointed out. I have owned many manual and cnc machines, small to large, and will say, buy a machine that you will be able to use down the road so to speak.
    It seems that we buy a machine, you say months later, man I should have got something bigger. The purchase all depends on how much money you can spend. But for example, for 10k, you buy a new small machine, most likely with steppers motors, or buy a older vmc, or knee mill conversion, with servos. Look at the big picture down the road. IF I knew what I know now 20years ago, I could have saved myself alot of time and money for sure.
    Good luck on your machine purchase.
    HAAS VF3-5 axis trunion
    Mastercam X3