587,112 active members*
3,122 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

intro and questions

Hi Folks,

I'm new to the forum, green as a gourd when it comes to CNC anything and looking for some advice as to where to start.

I'm a sheetmetal shaper by trade and most of what I do is a slow, tedious process. Shaping obsolete automotive sheetmetal replacement panels by hand, using a hammer, beater bag and english wheel isn't exactly an easy way to make a living, but I do enjoy it. However, I've come to a point that I can no longer keep up with my workload without relying on automated processes to some degree. I'm going to start stamping some of the parts I make and will be doing this with a hydroform press. This method will reduce die costs, and although some of the dies may be cast, I find myself needing to either purchase or build a CNC router for making dies.

Since several of the panels I plan to make are fairly sizeable, I'll be needing a large router table.

If anyone would care to lead me in the right direction, I would greatly appreciate it.

If you folks have any words of wisdom, I'm all ears!!

Thank you,
    Randy Ferguson
    www.fergusoncoachbuilding.com

Welcome to the forum Randy.
    You can check out the metal working section and see what some the guys are using.
    It sound like any router you build will have a fairly tough workload, in that case you can check out the mechmate machine. He has a thread in this section and you can also check out his site www.mechmate.com

Jason

Hi Jason,

Thanks for the input. I've looked at the MechMate website and it looks to be a nice design. I need more clearence between the gantry and table than what's designed into this machine. Having read part of the forums on that site, there is only 8" vertical space to work with, which I don't believe will be sufficient for my needs. It isn't recommended to increase the distance vertically, according to the designer.

Thanks again,
    Randy Ferguson

Randy,