588,053 active members*
4,173 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Tormach Personal CNC Mill > Is tormach right for me? no mill experience?

Is tormach right for me? no mill experience?

I am thinking about pulling the trigger on a new Tormach 770. I have never used a mill. I have built my own cnc plasma table so i understand the basics of cnc. I use solidworks, sheetcam, and I have messed around with meshcam. I want to machine my own billet parts out of T6 6061 Alloy. I have the knowledge to create them in solidworks. Im pretty mechanical I am self taught in solidworks and sheetcam and I seem to get around pretty well. I guess im just looking for a little insparation not sure if I will be getting in over my head. I dont mind spending the 12000.00-15000.00 on a tormach if its somthing a beginner can figure out. I have thought about buying a Taig desktop to learn on but I dont think I would be happy with it after I figured everything out. Everything I have read says buy the biggest mill you can afford. I want to be able to run a small production line with this thing and I dont think the Taig would be up to this.

Any suggestions would be appreciated. Is this a machine I can learn on?

Shane

Quote Originally Posted by z28 View Post