587,236 active members*
3,795 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 2 12

Joe 2006 In GA Build

Figured I would go ahead and start this thread. As soon as Joe can finish my kit and it gets shipped to me I will be building and taking a lot of pics. I am a totally newbie to CNC Routers (I have a CNC Hot Wire Foam Cutter, but CNC and steppers are about the only thing they have in common LOL).

I have gotten the aluminum angle and will be ordering some hardware in the next few days. I have lots of questions and would appreciate all the help I can get.

Looking through the instructions it does not give the diameter of the pipe used for the X Y axis's. Can someone please let me know what the outer diam is. I am going to try and fine it in DOM tube as it is usually smoother than the galvanized pipe I have seen used.

Any tips or suggestions please feel free to add them in.

Thanks
    Glenn

Hello Glenn,

Welcome to the club!

The pipe that is commonly used is gas pipe as follows:

X-Axis 1" (4 60" pieces)
    Y-Axis 3/4" (2 36" pieces)

The dimensions are I.D.

I don't know what the O.D. is but have heard of other's that were thinking about using DOM tube.

I used black pipe and got it pretty darn smooth by chucking it up in a lathe and using green scratch pads and emery cloth to polish them up. Came out pretty good, however it did take some time to get them like that.

Look forward to seeing your progress!!

Thanks for the reply. I don't have access to a lathe that would turn 60" pieces to smooth them up. Thats why I was thinking DOM would be smoother. I am going to look on the McMaster Carr web site and see what I can come up with. They have a warehouse about an hour from my house that sells over the counter.

Thanks again for the response I appreciate it.

Glenn