587,731 active members*
2,946 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Lasercut table

Hello,

I just bought a Gweike 1290 60 watt laser and i am happily cutting and engraving!
    I have been able to get a large order that requires small pieces to be cut out of acrylic sheet.
    The problem I am having now is that the pieces tend not to fall out of the sheet but tilt causing the laser head or auto focus to sometimes hit the stuck piece and move the whole sheet ruining the cut.

I did get a engraving table but the laser beam is being reflected by the width of the table maze and actually recut the underside of the acrylic.

Does anyone have experience with building a new and good airflow grid/ raster/ laser cut table ?
    If so, what material did you use, dimensions, colour of material, etc?

Any help would be greately appreciated!

Newbie here too so unfortunately I don't think I'm going to be of much help.

I cut on a honeycomb aluminium bed, which I think is what you're explaining, and the little burn marks on the underside bother me endlessly. Google something called a 'Vector Pin Table', which allows you to support the sheet in different positions and not interfere with the laser at all. They're available commercially, but I've often thought of creating my own. I don't think it would be too difficult.

Occasionally I'll make a "ghetto" vector pin table by engraving what I'm going to cut on a piece of card and then strategically placing small blocks of MDF on the card staying well away from the engraved lines. I then place the sheet to be cut on top of these blocks and cut out the design. You have to get a bit creative with focusing and aligning the workpieces but in the end the part and the leftover sheet should be supported and stay in place.

Can I ask, it sounds like you've been engraving without the use of a honeycomb table? What is the sheet sitting on when you do this?