531,785 active members*
2,501 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 2 of 2
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    31

    LEARNING MODE

    2 simple questions:

    1. Can a stepper driver run a servo motor.
    2. Can a servomotor run without an encoder.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Community Moderator Jim Dawson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    4545

    Re: LEARNING MODE

    1) No

    2) No, assuming you want positioning.

    By definition a servo has some feedback device, could be a tach in the case of older brushed DC motors & drives or an encoder or resolver in the case of modern AC servos. It is possible to use Hall sensors that feed back to the drive for commutation in BLDC motors.
    Jim Dawson
    Sandy, Oregon, USA

Similar Threads

  1. What is - Torque Mode? Position Mode? Speed/Velocity Mode?
    By sunmix in forum Servo Motors / Drives
    Replies: 47
    Last Post: 11-13-2020, 04:35 PM
  2. vfd will work in demo mode but not in real mode
    By sgaugetrains in forum UCCNC Control Software
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-06-2019, 01:29 AM
  3. Step Mode and Continius Mode exchanged
    By iron_aro in forum Mach Software (ArtSoft software)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-04-2014, 05:42 PM
  4. Bridgeport Interact 2 -- tachometer mode vs. voltage mode?
    By ichudov in forum Bridgeport / Hardinge Mills
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-28-2010, 07:24 PM
  5. spline mode nurbs mode
    By cooltool in forum CamSoft Products
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-10-2009, 08:03 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •