530,124 active members*
3,431 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Thread: locking up

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    4

    locking up

    i have a china machine LT-1325 cnc.
    the steeper motors have started to lock up at higher speeds. they didn't use to.
    not just when running but also when toggling. if i slow the toggle speed way down it doesn't lock but there is a noticeable bump every so often. the bump is random. I make orthotics so the use is very repetitive . could the steeper motors need replacing?

  2. #2
    Community Moderator Jim Dawson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    4488

    Re: locking up

    Maybe cleaning and lubricating the rails and screws would help. Sounds like there is some mechanical resistance to free movement.
    Jim Dawson
    Sandy, Oregon, USA

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    4

    Re: locking up

    thank you for the reply. lubrication was the first thing I tried.
    when that didnt work i took the belts off the steeper motors so they would run free and still have the same problem. the odd thing is it happens on all axis?

  4. #4
    Community Moderator Jim Dawson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    4488

    Re: locking up

    That being the case, I would be looking at the electrical connections to the stepper drivers, or maybe a computer problem. Power supply problem? It is not likely that the stepper motors have failed, not impossible, but not likely.
    Jim Dawson
    Sandy, Oregon, USA

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    4

    Re: locking up

    I think you are correct. I put the machine in a position where i could toggle all three axis at the same time and they all glitched at the same time. I will look into what you said and post the findings. your help is very much appreciated.

  6. #6
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    4

    Re: locking up

    it appears to be fixed. I put a meter on the power supply and the out put voltage did not change when the machine glitched. so i unhooked the computer to try on another cnc machine. long story but that didnt work so i hooked it back up and now there is no glitch? the computer connects to the cnc via USB. maybe connection? i think most likely a glitch in Mach 3 and turning the computer off for a while fixed it? well at least for now.

  7. #7
    Community Moderator Jim Dawson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    4488

    Re: locking up

    Maybe just a bad connection, you never know exactly when you don't find the problem. Happy to hear it's fixed.
    Jim Dawson
    Sandy, Oregon, USA

Similar Threads

  1. Help with V30 locking up
    By Waynno in forum BobCad-Cam
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 03-21-2018, 08:42 PM
  2. Locking Toolpaths
    By D3V3R in forum Mastercam
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-13-2015, 10:30 PM
  3. BMC 20 CPU locking up
    By lnindustrial in forum HURCO
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-30-2010, 04:22 AM
  4. BCC locking up during DNC.
    By Jim Estes in forum BobCad-Cam
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-07-2007, 05:03 PM
  5. Locking in settings
    By Dave56 in forum BobCad-Cam
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-19-2006, 06:20 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •