587,541 active members*
7,047 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Looking for answers....

Hey guys...
    As most of you know I have a Lathemaster Milling machine and I am gonna convert it to cnc control. I just recently got some cash to do this and I thought I would post this to all on this forum....

If you had this mill and were to convert it. How would you go about it? There are a few features I want and many avenues to go down from different suppliers/ types of products. This mill will be a closed loop servo system with ballscrews and gecko drives. The question I have is what type of ballscrew and nut setup would you use? Which motors and how much torque, which power suply, which breakout board if any, which belt drive setup and what ratio, which encoders, which bearings, etc, etc, etc,. I of course do not have unlimited funds but I want to build this thing once and end up with the most reliable, accurate, and simple design possible with purchased components and possibly some homebuilt components. I am no expert and this will be my first build so simplicity and strength will win out over lotsa bells and whistles every time assuming the end result is a capable and pleasing machine. The mill is in very good condition and works very well for me so I feel good about putting the money into it. I intend to use this machine to make some custom parts I have been manually machining which need to be accurate but not necessarily extremely accurate. Any help will be apprecited because I see so many different components and ideas out there I do not know where to start. Thank you in advance for your ideas about how you would build this machine today if it were yours to build and within a reasonable budget. Peace guys..

Pete Matos
    [email protected]
    865-363-9218

Pete,

If I had the money, I would look at the IH conversion kit.

Alan

Well that would be nice but....