587,324 active members*
3,322 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 5 123

Luis Sx3 cnc Conversion

Hi all members of this great community,

I have been around for not too long and participated in very few forums, I am not more than a beginner here but hope that some day can provide of help and support to others, as you do it for people that need help.

I am here today to share with you that I have decided to make the step and live through the experience how to cnc your own mill feels like. I have never done something like this, but you guys have encouraged me, specially because I have always seen that there are always people willing to help others.

I purchased a Sx3 the last december. I had it waiting for me some time, specially because I was reading more and getting more information about how to proceed with this ritual.

I have started with the disassembly of the mill and the cleaning part. I will be using for my conversion:

- Sx3
    - Will leave the quill
    - CNC-Fusion's small-Mill Deluxe cnc kit with premium ballscrews
    - 2x Heli-Cal Zero Backlash Couplings
    - 1x gas spring
    - Mach3 since I had some problems seting up EMC2 in the laptop (yes I will try with a laptop). I plan to be using an old Laptop with parallel port that I have since long time ago. I will see, the preliminary Mach3 tests showed promising results, but i guess until the moment comes, I will see if theory approaches reality. Anyway this will be another thing to test after the mill is completed, for now the main thing will be the mill :rainfro: !!
    - Electronics reccomended by CR and bought from Automation Technologies:
    - - G540
    - - 2x Keling KL23H2100-35-4B 381 oz motors for X and Y
    - - 1x Keling KL34H295-43-8A 906 oz N34 motor for Z
    - - 1x Keling KL-350-48 48V/7.3A PSU

Since you guys love pictures I am attaching some pictures of what I have done until now.