541,041 active members*
3,879 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Machine Controllers Software and Solutions > Mach Software (ArtSoft software) > Mach Lathe > MACH3 software DRO vs actual position issue please help!!!!!!!!!
Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1

    Angry MACH3 software DRO vs actual position issue please help!!!!!!!!!

    Hello, I am a newbie at lathes, I've spent most of my short experience time on CNC Mills, I just purchased an American Bridgemill and I'm having some difficulties. I'm going to explain this the best I can.

    Long story short, I'm trying to cut a diameter using the jog. My numbers on the MACH 3 DRO do not match the actual diameter of the part that I just turned. All settings are on Diameter mode. If I cut .02 of a .5 diameter the MACH 3 DRO shows me .480 while the part diameter measures .460. Is there any way to see the true number on the MACH 3 DRO. i.e. if I cut .02 radius the DRO shows a .04 Diameter change?

    I figure this is a setting someplace in the Mach3 program how do I change this?


    Thank You.
    Oasis Custom Firearms
    Oasis Custom Firearms – Selling You Peace of Mind

  2. #2
    Community Moderator ger21's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    35460

    Re: MACH3 software DRO vs actual position issue please help!!!!!!!!!

    Maybe your steps/unit setting is wrong?
    Gerry

    UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

    Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

    JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

  3. #3

    Re: MACH3 software DRO vs actual position issue please help!!!!!!!!!

    I followed the setup manual word for word for steps per unit in motor tuning. If I move incremental (G91) with the MDI .01 it does move .01 on the MACH 3 DRO and the manual DRO. Is that correct?

Similar Threads

  1. Mach3 software issue with E-stop with CNC USB Card
    By sbloom67 in forum Mach Software (ArtSoft software)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-17-2020, 04:55 AM
  2. Wear Offset vs Actual Tool X Position
    By smokediver576 in forum Tormach Slant Lathe
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-25-2019, 03:45 PM
  3. Replies: 22
    Last Post: 05-12-2012, 07:01 PM
  4. Save actual position
    By cookie2 in forum HEIDENHAIN -> TNC
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-26-2011, 07:07 PM
  5. Actual Position
    By cncwapner in forum CamSoft Products
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-21-2009, 04:02 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •