587,091 active members*
3,146 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

$making Opportunites for a mill

Hi everyone,
    I recently assembled a Taig CNC mill (pictures can be seen at:
    http://www.teilhardo.com)
    and started on a fairly large project (a microturbine). Well, here I am, 6 months later and my money supply is shrinking dangersously low. I am a high school student, and am unemployed (as you can imagine). After spending money on the mill, steppers, controllers, enclusure, Rhino and CAM (currently DeskAM) software, I have the right equipment but no money to spend on better CAM software that will become a necessity as I continue my endeavor with microturbines. Does anyone know of any ways that I can make a little cash without having to start up a large shop? Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
    Thanks,
    Tei
    -Please check out my webiste-
    http://www.teilhardo.com

Make some custom car and truck parts for your buddies that are in to the custom scene.

You should be able to beat the retail prices by a fair margin, and still make a bit of cash.

good luck,
    "Plan your work; Work your plan"

You can also go to the cycle shops. The "mounties" & "roadies" sometimes wants custom parts as well....

Klox
    *** KloX ***
    I'm lazy, I'm only "sparking" when the EDM is running....

I don't know much about custom car/motorcycle parts. What are we talking about, gaskets, shafts, gears??? Will I need to spend any more money on complex CAM or can I use my owned 2.5d CAM?
    Thanks,
    Tei

Tei - do a quick search on eBay - just check "CNC" - you'll find heaps of ideas from full up steering wheels to gas caps and small bitty pieces. Good luck! Whatcha gonna do with the first million?
    :cheers:Jim
    Experience is the BEST Teacher. Is that why it usually arrives in a shower of sparks, flash of light, loud bang, a cloud of smoke, AND -- a BILL to pay? You usually get it -- just after you need it.