587,131 active members*
3,279 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Manuel machinist

Im getting into sharpening end mills and iv been a tool grinder for several years now but im new at the air bar for grinding outside diameters and ends on these things. Is there anyone that knows alot about grinding these things on a KO Lee tool grinder? Or anyone who knows the angles for primary and secondary angles on all dif sizes of end mills???

They vary depending on material to be cut and dia. of tool. But you will need the air spindle to do this. Also remember that as you grind away the O.D. of the tool the edge falls below the centerline which makes it more difficult to cut.
    We all live in Tents! Some live in content others live in discontent.

my grandfather has been grinding ODs for a long time and has came up with a chart for different sizes and what the angles are the problem is that he is over 80 and has trouble remebering what the angles are and he thinks he needs to change his chart... instead of taking his word i was wondering if there is a chart from the factory a standered chart for these angles? I have the air bar and im grinding the ODs and matching whats on the bit but for the bits that he has already ground i dont know if the angles on it are ok or not...