587,128 active members*
3,143 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

mechanical questions...

okay, my background is architecture/woodworking, so i am not conversant with mechanical practices, theory, and common solutions that many of you pros and high-end amateurs are experienced in, so don't laugh too hard at my stupid newbie questions... (you can laugh some...)

1. on many designs -including the 7th sojourn of JOHN CONRAD KLEINBAUER (inventor of the homebrew cnc (sic))- there is both an end support where motor(s) and/or end bearings for the drive shaft are attached, *and* a motor mount plate of some sort... (here's the stupid part) what function does the motor mount plate serve ? why can't you just mount the motor directly to the MDF/alum/plywd/whatever end support itself and call it a day ? (i can see that you need a separate mounting block if you have the rod/rail suspended by the 4-screw adjustable mount, but otherwise, it just seems to be an extra piece of stuff for no apparent purpose)

2. for the delrin/whatever 'nut' to attach to the backplates being driven by the threaded rod, is there any benefit to making that nut somewhat (or much?) thicker ? would it help absorb potential 'whipping' actions of the rod (especially as it got longer) ? would it be more betterer if you had TWO such 'drive nuts' at each end of the moving table (or the other axes) ? would that distribute forces better ?

3. in contemplating the problem of attaching motor shaft to threaded rod, is there a possibility that making a coupling out of delrin or other high density plastic stuff would stand up to the forces involved, yet provide the -apparently necessary- flexibility to allow for misalignments ?