588,126 active members*
4,784 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Mill Column Mods

Here is a picture of the new Miil Guides I am installing. They are 5 inchs longer for a total of 20 inches and fit tighter in the bore by .001. They are chrome plated 1045 steel. We started to make the new lift screw using B7 5/8"-8 acme all thread. The lift motor is a 1/6 hp 57 RPM 115volt gear motor. The lift nut will be modified by boring out the center and threading the flange and installind a bronze nut that is taped to size.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Mill Column Guide 2.jpg  

Old Parts!

Hey,
    What are you planning to do with the old parts you are removing? I have a Shopmaster 2000 without the Quadralift and want to modify it. I would be interested in taking the old parts off your hands. Plus maybe some close up pictures and maybe a drawing or two!

Jeff

Fireman,
    Here is a message I copied from the Shoptask users group- maybe his web site will help you in building your own.

1498.4 in reply to 1498.3

I am working on a home brew Quadralift. So far I have only a pile of parts. I based my design on the pictures available at this website: http://www.ktmarketing.com/quadraliftpictures.htm There are enough detail photos to begin scaling if you import these JPGs into AUTOCad. You need to be careful on the perspective forshortning at the vanishing points. By careful scaling vertically and comparitive measurements from your ShopTask you can come up with a reasonable design. I will have to take the mill head off to find out what the bolt patterns are then put it back together to drill the plates!