587,311 active members*
3,659 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

My First Part

Hi guys

Thought I would share my first real part on my very new 1100
    Keep in mind that I am a very noob at maching - but a bit of a wizz at computers (that's my day job)

It's a door catch for the delux stand - the front door as supplied was a bit out of spec and the catch did not engage with the frame.
    So I thought - what a good first real part

The process is
    1. Draw it up in SolidWorks 2012 - that took 10mins 'cos I have already climbed that learning curve

2. do the CAM in Sprut - that took 2 days 'cos still in the foothills of that learning curve

3. cut metal!!!!

Attached are some pics
    the solidworks dump is the part in solidworks

then some machining in some scrap - actually from a computer case - 3mm steel of some sort.

(a) is the first attempt - not too good - clamped the whole 18" length at the ends and it was bouncing - learnt about clamping from that

(b) oops - got the feeds and speeds from GWizz and did it with no coolant - doing it step by step wanted to do a simple part first to see if all worked and then put on the delux stand drip trays and link up the coolant.
    within 1" the whole thing got cherry red and chips welding themselves to the cutter (1/4" HSS 4 flute center cutter) - quick bang on the EStop and reach for the extinguisher just in case. - learnt about coolant from that.

(c) Got it all together and did it - the top is as finished the bottom has been separated and the tabs cleaned up - and the door now closes :}

Peter
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails first part sw.jpg   first part.jpg  

Nice job! I remember how hard it can be to take those first steps. keep it up!
    Tormach PCNC 1100, SprutCAM, Alibre CAD

Congrats on your first part! It's all gravy from now on...................okay, not really, but it will still be fun. :P