587,608 active members*
3,607 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 2 12

My new cnc router build

I'm Gary and I am new to cnc and this is my first post, so I have been looking over the forums to pick up whatever is usefull.
    Recently started to build a Joes 2006 from plans in solidworks format with a few variations. Got the x and y axis build, did have the use of my wood workshop but no cnc outfits.
    The rest of the woodwork build is no real problem, I expect these to come with the controller and computer set up, lack a lot of know how, so I'm on a steep learning curve.

Here are some pictures of my build so far.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Gluing x axis torsion box.jpg   X axis torsion box.jpg   Gluing y axis torsion box.jpg   Gantry front.jpg  

X axis rails.jpg   Ready for drive screws.jpg  

Looks good. What are the rough dimensions you are using?

Cutting area should be 5 x 2 foot

Nice work......keep the pics coming!

Mike

Looking good so far
    Cheers, Bob
    http://www.ocm.com.au/wordpress/

I decided on 1/2" acme lead screws, it seems acme thread is hard to come by in Australia so after 3 weeks search I finally located some at United Fasteners in Brisbane.
    Got them to day in one 3.6 meter length, had to take what I could get. Turned out to be an odd size 6 tpi.
    Just as well that I waited before ordering anti backlash nuts. I just ordered them from Dumpster cnc. Hope to see them in a fortnight

Got my anti backlash nuts and couplers last week, they are a nice fit. Put in the drive screws for the x and y axis, ran them with my power drill at 2200 revs, (that would translate to 330inch/min,will be running it a lot slower) without hardly any whip over the x axis and none over the y axis and running very smooth.

The z axis is still giving me some trouble, not nearly smooth enough for my liking, so I'll probable redo it.

Attached a few pictures of y axis details