525,875 active members*
3,383 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > WoodWorking Machines > Commercial CNC Wood Routers > Chinese Machines > NC Studio cutting double the size of simulation
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1

    Join Date
    Jul 2020
    Posts
    2

    NC Studio cutting double the size of simulation

    Hello,

    I have a 1325 cnc router and I noticed when I load the gcode, everything simulates well but when we proceed to cutting the router cuts double the size and the machine cant complete the work.

    I do not know what I am doing wrong,

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Posts
    509

    Re: NC Studio cutting double the size of simulation

    Check what your actual stepper drivers rev (microsteps) are set at and check what your stepper motors rev per units are set at.
    Seems to me that you have the steppers set at half what they should be at (I think it's that way round anyway) making them travel twice the actual distance required.

    For example: (in mm)
    A 5mm pitch screw.
    Stepper driver at 2000.
    So 2000 / 5 (driver / by scerw pitch) = 400.
    Stepper rev per unit should be 400.
    Then do the fine tuning.

    If stepper was at 200 using the above example it would go twice the distance on the machine.

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Jul 2020
    Posts
    2

    Re: NC Studio cutting double the size of simulation

    Thanks Dazp1976,

    Apologies if this seems like a silly question but i am currently looking at all the settings and cannot find the settings for the stepper drivers. Can you please point me in the right direction based on the settings i set.

    Thank you so much for your help as I have been at on this for 3 weeks now

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Posts
    509

    Re: NC Studio cutting double the size of simulation

    Quote Originally Posted by phunmmie View Post
    Thanks Dazp1976,

    Apologies if this seems like a silly question but i am currently looking at all the settings and cannot find the settings for the stepper drivers. Can you please point me in the right direction based on the settings i set.

    Thank you so much for your help as I have been at on this for 3 weeks now
    Not silly. I don't even know what controllers/steppers you are using.
    I'm talking about checking the drivers in the control box itself to see what they're set at. Such as:

    Settings are determined by what the little white switches on the top are positioned as.
    Then do the math to check your steppers.

    Yours may be entirely different but it's the first thing I could think of.

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    650

    Re: NC Studio cutting double the size of simulation

    Could be the calibration of the software,but we have no information about the software in question.Very probably you will find a DIP switch on the controller that can be moved to double the number of microsteps per unit, but equally likely you would be able to alter the steps/unit of travel in the software settings.Knowing the type of software would bring forth the information about where the calibration settings are located.

Similar Threads

  1. double line when cutting
    By Lietuva in forum General Laser Engraving / Cutting Machine Discussion
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 11-04-2017, 03:02 PM
  2. double simulation for a deskcnc rotary project
    By pcs2smf in forum Uncategorised CAM Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-08-2015, 05:39 AM
  3. Machined size is double
    By Praymond1209 in forum Mach Mill
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-23-2010, 05:17 AM
  4. Cutting double keyways
    By protrxrptr17 in forum General MetalWork Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-27-2009, 05:58 AM
  5. Newbie needs help! cutting acrylic, and double cutting? 3040 machine
    By stephaniehamer in forum General Laser Engraving / Cutting Machine Discussion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-29-2009, 09:37 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •