587,747 active members*
2,870 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Community Club House > Mentors & Apprentice Locator > Need advice on how to learn CNC basics.

Need advice on how to learn CNC basics.

Hi. I am a business owner in the San Jose area and have an interest to learn CNC machining. I am in the process of buying a Sharp VMC and will have to pay somebody to operate the machine for now. My question is this. Can someone point me in the right direction to learn the order of operations, and the path that I would need to take to learn how to CNC an item? Is there any easy way to design simple 3 axis parts, a simple way to import them to the machine, and to actually start making the parts? Please excuse my ignorance. I have done alot of searching and know that I will need to learn SolidWorks and have started doing that. But in the meantime is there a way to get started in the actual machine operation?

Thank you for your time and point in the right direction.

Help

Hi,

I sent you a PM.

John
    2007 HAAS TM-1P OneCNC XR5 Mill Pro. Shopbot PRT running Mach3 2010 Screen Set, Super PID and PMDX Electronics.Check out my Gallery on: http://[email protected]

I saw you had a post - asking for someone to give you advice on learning the basics of programming. I was hoping there would be some responses.....because I've got the same question! just wanting to know what you found out, if anything? Thanks.

hack at it or hire a pro, your choice

just 2cents here and a story from 30yrs ago.

Hire a pro.
    A conventional turret production lathe shop getting a new Hardinge CNC.
    Owner making parts and wished to transition to CNC he knew zero.
    He gave me print, tools list, operation/programming manual, and trust, two weeks before final installation service release for operation.

Bottom line,