587,495 active members*
3,683 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > WoodWorking Machines > DIY CNC Router Table Machines > New to CNC... but decided to build anyways

New to CNC... but decided to build anyways

Had a client that wanted me to build something that I have never done before..... A CNC Multi use machine. This machine will have the ability to have 3 different Gantry designs. One for Pick and Place on pcbs, one for milling , and one for printing 3d. This is a large machine with a 10'6'' X 5'8'. Ahren from CNC router parts has been awesome and I would highly recommend him to anyone.
    I am looking for any input as to what I might have done wrong or right as this is my first build...... Really jumped in with both feet. Here is what I have done so far.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails photo 1.jpg   photo 2.jpg   photo 3.jpg   photo 5.jpg  

photo 4.jpg   photo 1 (2).jpg  

more pics

More pics
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails photo 1 (3).jpg   photo 4 (3).jpg   photo 2 (2).jpg  

more

more
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails photo.jpg   photo 2 (3).jpg  

no messing about there - that's a monster

will you have all three gantries installed at the same time - and just rack the unwanted ones out of the way?

we will just unrack and load the next gantry..We hope.....lol

I think this might be the biggest 100% extrusion router ever shown on this site. I'm jealous. 3030 for the frame and 3060 for the rails. That's a serious machine.

The only thing I can think I would have done differently is dropped the table and bolted the machine together using regular bolts vs the special 8020 hardware.

New to CNC eh......

This looks great! How well does it hold level? One of the issues I had setting mine up was all those movable parts and getting everything to stay in alighnment.

Don't say that!!!!!!lol I think it should be fine....lots of threadlock.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails ballscrew.jpg