587,405 active members*
3,030 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Benchtop Machines > New in engraving... I need your help
Page 1 of 2 12

Question New in engraving... I need your help

Hi, Guys

I'm new at the engraving business. I'm starting a small business with my mother in law (trying to help her) and the first thing I need to learn is how to engrave two o three lines of text on a 1 1/2 by 3 inches piece of alluminum plate.

I've been reading from you guys about how to accomplish this. First, I'll get my machine ( CNC Router on my desk) in one more week and I know I have to get Mach3 to run it. The seller sent me a file to place it into Mach3. To me it sound like a pre-made profile, according to what I'm reading, don't believe me. Mach3 allows you to download a version with limited features, but I've been told it does many things in demo mode.

The next thing I'm supposed to get is a program that allows me to create those text lines and save them as certaing kind of file format. I would have to import this file from Mach3 and send it to the engraving machine.
    CorelDraw is supposed to be a good sofware to create and properly format the text file to be engraved.
    Now... Please, tell me what do I need to know to do this "simple" task?

You will need 3 things to make and run your machine. Cad, Cam, Controller.

For Cad you could use Corel Draw or any other drawing program, it basically really matters on what Cam will import.

Cam programs can be cheap and free or really really expensive. My biggest suggestion is buy what you need and what you might need in the future. This way you are not buying 5 or 6 different software's.

Now to give some suggestions. Sheetcam, Meshcam, Cut2d, Vcarve, Cut3d.
    If all you ever plan on doing is engraving then cut2d and sheetcam will do well for you. One is a little easier to use than the other.