587,999 active members*
4,723 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAD Software > Solidworks > New to solidworks - Guidance needed please

New to solidworks - Guidance needed please

Hi guys.

Im completely new to CAM.

I recently bought a CNC'd BF20 with a 4th axis

I have my own full version of AUTOCAD2011. and have been exporting a .stl to a trial version of VisualCAM.
    I was thinking of buying the full version of VisualCAM.
    I would then be runing Mach3

Would you recommend buying Solidworks as an alternative to the above?

Are there any trails out there apart form the student versions (of which i am not).

is solidworks the CAD / solidCAM the CAm software?
    and do i need to purchase both or does it come as a bundle?
    lastly do i need to buy bolt-ons for a 4th axis?

Thanks for your time
    KEith

If so what

SolidWorks will give you good 3d mechanical models and solidCam will produce the code needed for the machine to run. I've evaluated SolidCam and many other integrated CAM programs and my pick of the litter was HSMworks. It is integrated w/ SolidWorks and uses the native SolidWorks files for it's CAM files. There are no additional files required [other than your tool library] to loose or get mixed up etc.. I found the this part of the job much more streamlined w/ HSMworks, the interface is fantastic and the code is pretty good as well.

Fwiw
    JerryFlyGuy
    The more I know... the more I realize I don't
    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)