587,133 active members*
3,512 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 3 123

Newbie CNC Workshop Tools

Okay, I am almost finished building my Taig CNC mill- I have the servos installed, the electronics are here and I am ready to purchase my vise, but I need to know what people reccommend as far as beginner's machine shop tools go. I would appreciate links from Littlemachineshop or ebay, but I can definitely jive with other sites

Thanks so much guys

I don't have any direct links to the products, but I get most of my tools (I'm a lowly CNC aerospace machinist) and other things from:

http://www.use-enco.com
    http://www.mscdirect.com
    http://www.travers.com

You'll definitely want to get a 6" caliper (I prefer dial, but that's just me). Some good brands to choose from are Starrett, Mitutoyo, Brown & Sharpe, Etalon, etc. You'll also want to get a dial indicator. Interapid is the best brand I've used for indicators, but I've had good luck with XTest as well (I think they're made by Fowler?) Another must have is an edge finder. Electronic/Laser edge finders are nice, but you definitely don't need them, a regular one will serve you just fine. Some more must haves: thin set of parallels, vise stops, 0-3 mic. set with standards, etc., etc.

It really all depends on what you plan to machine, what are the tolerances, and how often you plan to use your mill. Often, you can get away with the cheaper tools if you don't have to hold +/-.0025 tolerances. If you plan to machine anything with tighter tolerances than that, then stick to the good tools

-WRM

Great, thanks for getting me started

Could you give me a general list of tools required? So far, from your suggestions and my own knowledge I need the following:

Edge Finder (Does it have to be Starrett? I am going to get one with a 3/8" shank)
    Calipers (Again, not sure on the accuracy, but can someone give me a model that they use with a decent price range? Preferably <$100.)