587,172 active members*
3,269 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Newbie looking for guidance

Hello all, I am a recent graduate from Virginia Tech with a master’s in mechanical engineering. Due to my tremendous inability to kick the lab sickness I am now attempting to build my own lab/shop at home. Where I was once spoiled with any imaginable tool and toy money can buy I am now on a shoestring budget. I have already purchased both a Mig and Tig welder as well as a 40amp plasma cutter. The next step is to begin building or sourcing a cheap but worthwhile cnc plasma machine that my Chinese plasma cutter can serve dual purpose to. I am mainly going to deal with both steel and aluminum up to ¼” max. I have built many many things in the past but it was not until someone turned me onto this community that I realized there existed such a thing as a DIY cnc machine that anyone could build with a little know how.