588,562 active members*
5,493 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Newbie: Mach3 won't register input switches or turn steppers

Hi, wondering if you can help, I am new to CNC machining and Mach3.
    I have wired up my CNC machine and started setting it up to run on Mach3.

The problem:
    Mach3 will not register the limit switches or the E stop switches and the Stepper Motors will not turn.
    If I hit an E stop or push a limit switch, the LED's in Mach3 on the diagnostics page do not light up.

The hardware I am using: (all from CNC4YOU.co.uk)
    HG07 break out board
    CW5045 Stepper Motor Drivers
    60BYGH401-03 stepper motors
    Windows XP on a dedicated PC

What I have done to try and get it to work:
    Checked all wiring, reinstalled Mach3, checked parallel port driver. The steppers are receiving a voltage, and the limit switches and the
    E Stops are on a Normally Closed circuit, which breaks when I push a switch and test it with a multimeter.
    I have run driver test= system excellent.
    Under Ports and Pins:
    Port set up is on port 1, 0x378
    Motor outputs for X,Y & Z are set up on what I believe be the correct pins, DirLow Active is enabled
    Input signals are set to port 1, each limit switch and E stop has the correct pin number entered, active low is enabled for each.

Can anyone help? It's probably something dead simple but I at a loss to know what to do next.
    Many thanks
    Joz

I would focus on the lack of communication between the breakout board and Mach3 first. Some things that you could check:

1) Is your 25-pin cable actually a "straight-through" cable, with all pins connected?

2) Do you have power connected to your breakout board? What voltage are you using, and what pins have you hooked it up to? Do you see +5 volts on the common line shared by your limit switches?