588,621 active members*
5,398 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Events, Product Announcements Etc > Want To Buy...Need help! > Newbie - What's the best CNC programming book for beginners?

Question Newbie - What's the best CNC programming book for beginners?

Hello. I am working on a machine who's workhandlers are not positioning pieces of material in the correct spot. I am a beginner at CNC, therefore, do you know of a book that will be able to guide me through this issue? Or of a website that could possibility do the same?
    Thanks in advance for your help.

Your post is old and maybe you have found something by now!! I am surprized no one has given you an answer. Go to Amazon Books and do a search for "CNC" it will bring up a large number of books and they have a description of the contents. Just be cautious from where you buy as postage can be a killer from some of the sellers listed. ABE books is a source you may like to investigate. AbeBooks Official Site - New & Used Books, Textbooks, & Rare Books
    Ham Radio: Astronomy: Ornithology: Scale ship building.
    Web: http://dsmithdale.net/

Hi: Probably more details of your machine might assist., you mention 'materials" not being located in right place. I assume your machine is not a 'Gantry" type, where the material remains stationary and the gantry is guided to cut the appropriate programmed areas. I am far from being an expert, but sounds like a number of things.
    1. Program errors
    2. Software parameters not correctly setup
    3. Mechanical reference point not calibrated or incorrctly set.
    Initially I would do a small test and calibration program. ie a square or a couple of circles. If your software has a simulation feature, use that to see where it is going wrong or obtain a simulation program. Some have full operation access for 30 days, in which you can try them out before buying option.