588,138 active members*
5,342 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 2 12

No motor movement

I am new to the CNC world so bare with me. I am in the wireing stage of my home built CNC (thanks mostly to Phooddaniel). i have put together a powersupply from an old computer. it is a 250w atx (was) power supply. i am getting the correct voltage out of the power supply but i can't get the motor to turn. the motors are 425 oz/in and the driver board is from ebay and is a 3 axis driver board made by Univelop_Tech_LLC. I have just the one motor connected to see if i have everything connected correctly. i have the driver board connected to my computer but i'm not sure if thats all i have to do is just connect the 2 ends of the cable in and thats it? when i try to move the motor by useing the up and down arrows the numbers move on the screen but the motor does nothing. i am useing Mach3 with lazycam.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails motor wireing 015.jpg  

Red face

When you apply power to the drive card does the stepper lock up. It should.

I fried my Xylotex drivers by hooking up the drive card to the stepper incorrectly. You only get one chance to hook it up correctly.

Go through your connections one by one and check for accuracy, before applying power.

Good luck.

What voltage is the power supply? 5v won't work.

i checked the connections to the driver board and they are correct ( i think) the voltage is set +12.

have you asked the manufacturer or seller?
    Phil, Still too many interests, too many projects, and not enough time!!!!!!!!
    Vist my websites - http://pminmo.com & http://millpcbs.com

Red face

ok. i have rechecked the power supply and it appears that there is something wrong with it. figures, i built it. oh well i have ordered one thing time instead of makeing one. we shall what happens when it arrives. i just hope i didn't fry the driver board.