587,195 active members*
2,964 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Okuma's User Task 2

I'm still learning the different ways I can exploit Okuma's User Task language and wondered if I could do one thing in particular. Is there anyway I can read from the main program the furthest point a particular tool goes in X or Z? I wrote a bar pulling subroutine and I'm trying to make it smarter. I'm hoping there is some way the sub can query the main program and use the cutoff tools last point to know where it should pull from.

I'm thinking I can use VSIOZ(Z Axis command target point) or VAPAZ(Z axis active point) but I've never used them before. I will tinker with them today but if anybody else has any ideas I would love to hear them.

VSIOZ Worked like a charm. Now I can just insert CALL OBAR right after my part off on any job and the sub knows everything automatically. Maybe I should be posting this in the Okuma section (which I didn't see at first) Is this why I'm not getting any responses?

Question

Why do you need to know this information?
    If you have just parted off the component at a known Z value, Then surely the bar puller should be programmed to come into this point to grab the part and pull the required distance of material out of the chuck. (Keep in mind I have no idea what your Bar puller looks like nor how it operates).
    Are you familiar with how to pass variables into your subroutines?
    I would pass in the position of where you expect to find the end face and also the distance you need to pull out.
    Cheers
    Brian.

Quote Originally Posted by broby View Post
    Why do you need to know this information?
    If you have just parted off the component at a known Z value, Then surely the bar puller should be programmed to come into this point to grab the part and pull the required distance of material out of the chuck. (Keep in mind I have no idea what your Bar puller looks like nor how it operates).