588,535 active members*
4,607 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Mechanical Engineering > Linear and Rotary Motion > Opposing torque Rack & Pinion anti-backlash system?

Opposing torque Rack & Pinion anti-backlash system?

We recently had a retrofit done on a Horizontal Milling Machine. I do much more electrical work in the plant, I’m not a mechanical person, so please excuse any mistakes. Here’s the best description of the machine I can give:

The machine has an opposing torque anti-backlash Rack & Pinion system. There are 2 motors (about 25KW each), 2 gearboxes, and 2 pinions driving 1 rack attached to the table. The motors drive in equal but opposite directions to create a tension torque on the rack at stand still. As I understand it, the theory is if both start out with equal torque in opposite directions and then you apply more torque to one and remove an equal amount of torque on the other the table will move in one direction. If you reverse the roles of the motors the table will drive in the other direction. Because of the opposing torque, there should be little or no backlash in the system.

One question I have is how should a system like this take into account the weight of the table, friction, and things like that?

Is there any literature available about this type of system?

Does anyone have a system like this that operates correctly?

Thanks,
    Cliff

Sounds horribly inefficient. But, I am not a mechanical engineer either.

Steve

This is a good way to reduce backlash in a rack and pinion system. It also helps hold things "still" when machining as there is a substantial holding torque. Pretty creative really. I have no idea how common of concept this is.