588,250 active members*
4,659 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Question peck tapping cycle

i started programming a mori 653 vmc w/ mitsu controls and i want to peck my tapping.in the manual it says to change the #8018 parameter for the amount i want to retract after each peck(tap .5 dp per peck and retract .375 each time)which i've done.
    it shows the code like this...
    M29 S255;
    G84XOYOZ-1.Q.5R.2F.1;
    G8O;
    BUT I GET NOTHING!!!
    Can any one help,im tired of taps breaking!!!

M29??

1st, I the M29 is a sync code for the spindle. It is required for Rigid Tapping, 2nd, I have never heard of peck tapping. I think you mean you want to pull the tap out at a certain depth and then re-tap to finish depth. If correct then I you will need a Compression Tap Holder, this will allow for the tap to start without cross-threading the previous thread and to compensate for Speed/Feed error. To do this you will need to output 2 G84 Cycles and different depths. I have done the in Stainless materials and it does work fine. You will not need to use Rigid Tapping, just a G84 without the M29.

2nd, I have never heard of peck tapping
    Many controls can rigid peck tap. Fanuc, Mazatrol, Haas, etc. I'm pretty sure that a Mitsubishi control can as well (being that they build the Mazak controls). You don't need a compression holder for this. Heck,... you shouldn't even need it for what you're doing. You should be able to do multiple depths in synch mode like this:

M29 S???
    G84 X0 Y0 Z-.5 R.2 F??? (First depth)
    Z-.75 (Second Depth)
    G80

Most machines can do this all day long. You can even tap a bunch of holes, return to home, and run the tap cycle again and still pick up the lead. As long as you don't adjust the tool length, work offset, R plane, or change taps, you can just simply restart your tap cycle. You can even change the Z depth of the cycle and still come out fine if you're adjusting a set up.