588,117 active members*
4,936 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAM Software > MadCAM > Post processor missing tool number and feed rates

Question Post processor missing tool number and feed rates

I'm hoping someone can guide me towards a better understanding of post processor files.

I'm new to madCAM and trying to generate some g-code files for my small mill.

The tool paths look great and simulate correctly, but the g-code files are missing tool number and feed rates no matter which post processor file I try.

I have the feed rates and tool number set in the tool chooser in madCAM so I don't know what I'm doing wrong.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Leo

Re: Post processor missing tool number and feed rates

I have NO experience with madcam, rhino plug in? Get on the phone with them, it's a matter of "tweaking" the post, you will weed through automated phone menu's, secretary's, the hold times will be frustrating. Stand in! The answer is there, somewhere.

luck

I'm starting to suspect that the problem may be caused by my created cutter not passing the tool number and feed rate on to the post processor properly.

I just tried generating a toolpath on a completely different model, using one of the cutters that comes with madCAM and the resulting g-code has all the tool numbers and feed rates in it.

Is there a character limit to the names of my created cutters?

Perhaps I should be saving my created cutters in my user directory instead of trying to add them to madCAM's built in list of cutters?

absolutely!
    Your on to something. Here is where it starts to make sense. The post MUST be tweaked. Do not give up now, so close...

been there many times, each machine depending on setup, parameters, in place macro's, will have it's own tweaks related to the post (little thing here little thing there).

sorry i'm so vague

GET IN THERE!