587,865 active members*
3,183 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Power Drawbar - My Version

While I had the camera out taking photos of my upgraded coolant system I decided to shoot some of the power drawbar I designed and built.

I used a air over hydraulic system because I wanted maximum holding force for the TTS toolholders. I had too many pullouts caused by chatter (with longer endmills), etc. and wanted to be able to walk away from the machine with full confidence that when I return I won't find the cutter buried in the vise or table. I designed the system as a single stroke, quick acting, hydraulic actuator that can provide in excess of 10,000 lbs. drawbar force with 90 psi of air and minimal volume. (A 7/16-20 grade bolt is rated at 10,660 lbs of force). It is operated by flipping a toggle switch under the head (1st photo) and has an electrical interlock to prevent it from being actuated when the spindle is turning. I have been using it for roughly 2 years now without a single problem.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails P1000828~s.jpg   P1000814~s.jpg   P1000816~s.jpg  

Could you possibly show a pneumatic/hydraulic diagram of the system? I'm not 100% clear on how that is put together...

Sweet man....

Nice work on the air over hydraulic. Just out of curiosity as I am in the midst of building a triple stack air cylinder for my RF45cnc milling machine to use the TTS system I am wondering what your belleville stack is setup for pressure wise? I am looking at using around 3k lbs of force... What kinda drawbar holding force are you using and what is the spec of the belleville washers you used? I sincerely think that a high pressure belleville stack is the way to go on these machines. I know Tormach went with around 2500 lbs of force and I thought it needed to be slightly more. Anyways, that looks like a very well engineered system. what is the actuation time on it? Nice work man... thanks for sharing the pics... peace

Pete

mcphill,