547,519 active members*
2,116 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1

    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Posts
    248

    PWM to Pul/Step Signal.

    Hello. Is it possible to connect the PWM output signal directly to a stepper motor driver. So to the Pul / Step input of the driver.

    It works. But do I have to switch something in between? I don't want to destroy the board.

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    527

    Re: PWM to Pul/Step Signal.

    No


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    1131

    Re: PWM to Pul/Step Signal.

    A stepper pulse generator board would convert PWM to Step/Dir, if you can find one in the frequency range you need. Connecting PWM directly do the Step input will not give you any meaningful results.

    https://www.aliexpress.com/item/1005002988610764.html

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Posts
    248

    Re: PWM to Pul/Step Signal.

    That doesn't get me anywhere. I want to use the PWM signal of the MK3 / 9 controller.

  5. #5
    Community Moderator Jim Dawson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    5018

    Re: PWM to Pul/Step Signal.

    As long as the controller is outputting a 5V PWM signal it should not damage anything, but I'm not sure how much control you will have over the stepper motor. Normally the PWM signal is fixed frequency with a variable duty cycle, where the normal step output is a variable frequency with a fixed 50% duty cycle.
    Jim Dawson
    Sandy, Oregon, USA

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Posts
    248

    Re: PWM to Pul/Step Signal.

    If I control it via MDI, it works.
    so:
    M63 P1 Q106

    Then the motor turns once per minute. Because the steps on the driver are set to 6400

    M63 P1 Q6400 would be 1x per second


    I would just like to put a menu in the toolbar where I can then select different frequencies.
    Unfortunately, I don't know the exact syntax for this.

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Posts
    248

    Re: PWM to Pul/Step Signal.

    Code:
    cmd: "Machine.Output_PWM" image="BtnBottom/laser-beam.svg" imagechange="true" stroke=1.1 type=menu val="[0;0]@PWM1 0%|[0;25]@PWM1 25%|[0;75]@PWM1 75%|[0;100]@PWM1 100%"
    Unfortunately that does not work

    Because I think the E value is given and not the Q. But unfortunately I don't know.

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Posts
    248

    Re: PWM to Pul/Step Signal.


Similar Threads

  1. Independent PWM signal output
    By tantemay in forum PlanetCNC
    Replies: 45
    Last Post: 08-31-2021, 05:10 PM
  2. PWM to 0-10v Signal?
    By tantemay in forum PlanetCNC
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-29-2020, 09:19 AM
  3. Change BOB PWM signal to 0-10 V signal
    By Sterob in forum Chinese Machines
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 12-21-2017, 01:42 PM
  4. convert 5v PWM signal into analog signal ranges from -10 to +10 v
    By Hamayel in forum General CNC Machine Related Electronics
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-12-2015, 10:05 AM
  5. PWM signal
    By babinda01 in forum General CNC Machine Related Electronics
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-18-2008, 04:39 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •