587,997 active members*
2,635 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > WoodWorking Machines > Wood Lathes / Mills > Question on turning Wood Bat

Question on turning Wood Bat

Hi,

I am turning a Wood bat on a cnc hobby machine. I am New to this and finding that when my program gets near the handle of the bat to turn. My machine begins to Vibrate and make Horrible cuts, causing the bat to snap.

My Question is, why is this happening?

Does it have to do with the cut depth/feedrate/tooling/spindle speed?
    And if so how do I correct this?

Any help would be great..

Thank you.

Any pics of the machine? What tooling are you using? Climb or conventional cut? feedrate? depth per pass? spindle speed?
    Gerry

UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

(Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

Couple of pics,

Feedrate has been from 8in/min to 33in/min
    Spindle speed 700-1150
    cut depth, 1/8in - 1/4in

Can't seem to get a smooth cut over that handle area,

What do you think?
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails DSCF0841.jpg   DSCF0840.jpg   DSCF0842.jpg  

You may need a steady rest, but try lighter cuts. You may need a different cutter geometry as well. Looks like a metal cutting tool. You want something extremely sharp for wood.
    Gerry

UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

(Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

Thanks, where would be the best place to look for that sharp wood cut tooling?

Hi: