545,499 active members*
2,075 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1

    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Posts
    31

    quick question

    sorry in advance it's probably been said a thousand times.

    i have my axis set up and working, just dialing in the configuration in UCCNC.

    my question is how accurate is accurate?

    if i ask the mill to move 30mm (units set as mm) it moves 29.9992

    is that close enough? i would like it to move 30mm if i ask it to. am i expecting to much?

    thanks neil


    ps. sorry if posted in the wrong section

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Posts
    3012

    Re: quick question

    Hi Neil - If you change the DRO settings to 0.00mm units you will probably get 30.00mm (but this maybe not how far it actually moves, its just the theoretical movement) . But its the size of the job that matters! Is the resulting part 30.00mm? Peter

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Posts
    31
    Quote Originally Posted by peteeng View Post
    Hi Neil - If you change the DRO settings to 0.00mm units you will probably get 30.00mm (but this maybe not how far it actually moves, its just the theoretical movement) . But its the size of the job that matters! Is the resulting part 30.00mm? Peter
    hi Pete, thank you for the reply.

    I zero'd the DRO and that said 29.9992, it was a basic straight line so no actual part made. I think I will mill out a square and measure that and report back.

    thanks neil

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Posts
    31

    Re: quick question

    ok so i got the mill to move 30mm in the X direction and 30mm in the Y direction to basically mill a square slot .5mm depth of cut, i took a pic of the screen after each move, then measured the resulting square.

    not even close to what i was hoping for lol, obviously i have some tuning to still do

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Posts
    31

    Re: quick question

    i spent some time today trying to fine tune it, i put the drill chuck in the mill along with a piece of tig welding wire sharpened to a point. i bent the wire to 90 deg so it could point along a ruler so i could count off the mm moved. i set it to move 100mm in the Y axis, and after a few runs managed to get it to move 100mm and the DRO was reading 100. i then copied the steps value into the X axis config tab and repeated the same test, and confirmed that also moved 100mm and read 100 in the DRO.

    obviously without machining a part and measuring it i don't know how accurate it is, so that is next

Similar Threads

  1. Quick Question
    By DistortedDesign in forum Hobbycnc (Products)
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 06-09-2013, 11:02 PM
  2. New here and I've got a quick Question...
    By TPdrums in forum Uncategorised CAD Discussion
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 10-10-2011, 03:08 AM
  3. quick question
    By ghostlx in forum Mastercam
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-03-2009, 01:37 PM
  4. really quick question:
    By bigal in forum General CNC Machine Related Electronics
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-22-2005, 01:39 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •