587,220 active members*
3,069 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Realtime interfaces, remote manipulator, etc

I'm a developer. I'm not familiar with Mach, I am familiar with manual G-code programming (professionally 20 years ago) and PC programming (bachelors degree 5 years ago). I have and use Sherline CNC mills and lathes.

I'm wanting to make applications that directly control a mill or other machine, without having to use G-code, or have intermediate files etc.

For example, a window on the screen that you can write in with a digitizer tablet, and have the mill follow the moves immediately. Or more generally, an interface that accepts simple coordinates, and maybe applies safety limits for limits and speeds, and does some buffering.

Is there such an interface in Mach?

Another application would be intuitive realtime control of a mill emulating geometric chucks, lathes and pens. (Basically really complicated Spirographs).

It is mandatory that this be realtime for many reasons.

Any leads or ideas? What tools and interfaces does Mach have that might work?

Thanks,
    --Justin

Define Real time?

If you mean is Mach3 real time, then no it is not, it currently runs in a 10 hrts main update loop, with an optional faster 40 hrts update loop for fast small code.

If you mean real time possible at the machine, well yes, in a way. For instance the External Motion Card made by Galil, has buffer that Mach can load, so the board is always moving through its commands in real time in relation to the machine.