548,537 active members*
2,065 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    7

    reverse on lathe (turn M3 to M4)

    Hello!

    Help me, please...
    I have emc2 and 2 problems:
    1. How I can switch on spindle brake when I turn reverse spindle (m3 to m4)?
    2. How I can make that if I change tool, spindle doesn't off?

    Thanks a bunch for your help

  2. #2
    Community Moderator Al_The_Man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    23797
    Normally with CNC controlled M3/M4/M5 spindle with a brake, there has to be a method such as provided by drives and VFD's for zero-speed output, likewise Up-to-speed output.
    The first is in order to allow the brake to be applied, the second so that tool motion does not occur until the spindle rpm is up to the programmed value.
    Al.
    CNC, Mechatronics Integration and Custom Machine Design

    “Logic will get you from A to B. Imagination will take you everywhere.”
    Albert E.

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    495
    I would imagine you want to but the brake on only for a few seconds.
    these are the HAL pins for spindle :
    motion.spindle-brake OUT bit
    TRUE when the spindle brake should be applied
    motion.spindle-forward OUT bit
    TRUE when the spindle should rotate forward
    motion.spindle-reverse OUT bit
    TRUE when the spindle should rotate backward
    motion.spindle-on OUT bit
    TRUE when spindle should rotate
    I am not sure how spindle brake is set up to work - maybe it it only applies when the spindle in programmed off. Do you use these pins?
    As far as having the spindle continue to run that is an option being worked on and I think it is in the CVS (unreleased) version but not in a released version. so you have to wait till it is or download the CVS version.

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    495
    So I asked the developers of EMC and unfortunately there is no direct way to do this. The brake pin is set only when the spindle is turned off. If you switch from m3 to m4 the direction changes immediately, no brake, no wait. They way you could do this is use classicladder/HAL component to monitor the three pins and set 'motion.feed-hold IN bit' true while you apply the brake and switch directions. umm kinda a hack but you could...

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    7
    Thanks very much!

    I had a positive result with 'motion.feed-hold IN bit' yesterday!
    No direct way, but it is working.

    What about the second question?
    "How I can make that if I change tool, spindle doesn't off?"
    Do you have any good ideas?

  6. #6
    Registered
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    495
    Nothing you can do about The spindle unless you download the TRUNK version of EMC from 'CVC. Look Here about downloading:
    http://wiki.linuxcnc.org/cgi-bin/emcinfo.pl?CVS
    http://wiki.linuxcnc.org/cgi-bin/emc...ource_with_CVS
    Or wait till 2.2.7 is released I'm pretty sure it will be able to do that.

  7. #7
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    7
    Ok!
    Thanks!

Similar Threads

  1. LUX-Turn lathe
    By cad_cam_cnc in forum Machinery Manuals / Brochures
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-04-2012, 08:35 PM
  2. Mach Turn with Phoenix Lathe
    By bkkpool in forum Mach Lathe
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-10-2007, 01:06 AM
  3. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-24-2006, 04:41 AM
  4. D&D Mini-Turn Lathe?
    By TurboStew in forum Uncategorised MetalWorking Machines
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-26-2006, 05:49 AM
  5. Help What's software to do reverse Engineer for CNC Lathe ?
    By Calico in forum General CNC (Mill / Lathe) Control Software (NC)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-09-2005, 03:48 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •