587,659 active members*
3,172 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 2 12

Rookie 1st build with pictures

I have been a lurker on this forum for a long time. I'm a wood gear clock builder who is tired of hand cutting the gears. I've been thinking about building a CNC router for that purpose but I wasn't sure I really wanted to do it. Around Christmas time 2008 I scored a good supply of 8020 extrusions, fasteners and misc other parts for free. That pushed me over the edge in favor of building a machine. After all of the reading, I made a few basic component selections for the design. I decided to use the axis bearings from CNC router parts, the anti-backlash nuts from Dumpster CNC, Gecko 540 drives, Kelling 425 oz-in steppers, a Kelling 48 volt power supply and a Bosch Colt router for the spindle. The majority of the remaining components I got from McMaster Carr including the 1/2"-8 two start acme lead screw stock. They are a little pricy but they ship very fast and I have never had a problem with them. I decided to plan for the future a little bit. I don't really need a huge machine to cut wood gears but I figured that I might as well make it a bit bigger just because you never know what you might want to do in the future. I decided I wanted an honest 24" X 36" X 12" work envelope. No science in that, it was a completely arbitrary decision.