588,344 active members*
5,348 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

RS232 cables, adaptors and issues?

I am new to ownership of cnc equipment. Picked up a used Tree Journeyman 325 with a Dynapath Delta 20 control. Everything is in super nice shape on the mill, inside and out. But it has a DB25 RS232 port on the control. This is a bit dated and makes it difficult to find hardware and cables etc. So I have some options. First, I can get one of these. Its local, inexpensive and on paper, looks like it will work. Only concern is if the db29 to db9 adaptor is gtg, and that it won't add noise or cause other issues. Thoughts? Next idea would be to pull the db25 connector, fab up a new plate that could house a db9 connector, wire in a db9 plug and run a strait db9 cable. I would then have to get a db9 board for the desktop that I am going to dedicate to this machine. I don't think this would cause any issues but I am a little uncertain. I have the Control manual with the pin out for the cable so I am gtg there. Last option would be to make a new plate and jimmy rig some sort of USB jack into the side of the the control and just run a usb via some sort of to be determined adapter. I think this would be a nice option as I think it might add to the value if/when I sell the mill off. But it could also be the most potential to be problematic. Thoughts?

Successful RS232 connections require proper cables as you know. Two common cables are so called straight through and null modem. Which you will need I can't say. In fact machinery often ends up using weird connection for whatever reason. If you have a manual follow the directions.

I always use a 3 wire cable with the Hardware handshake pins jumpered at both ends.
    It is very simple to buy the DB9/DB25 hardware and make one up.
    Al.
    CNC, Mechatronics Integration and Custom Machine Design

“Logic will get you from A to B. Imagination will take you everywhere.”
    Albert E.